Hemp Heart Caesar Salad

Who likes Caesar Salad?

I recently had a craving for it and decided to try making my own dressing. I looked up a few different vegetarian versions and found one that incorporated hemp hearts. I’ve experimented with this recipe a bit and generally found that it’s very adaptable. You can make this a vegetarian or vegan dressing depending on what you omit or add in.

For example, adding nutritional yeast would increase the nutritional content of the dressing and give it a nice parmesan flavour. One could also omit the mayonnaise entirely, I think it would turn out equally creamy and would decrease the fat content. Also, this dressing would be great on raw, de-stemmed kale. If you do this though, make sure you really work the dressing into the kale leaves with your hands and even let it sit for a bit so that it breaks down the kale leaves and takes away any bitterness. Enjoy!

Hemp Heart Caesar Salad Dressing

1/4 cup fresh lemon juice, extra virgin olive oil, & hemp hearts
1 teaspoon – tablespoon vegan or regular mayonnaise
2-3 garlic cloves minced
3/4 teaspoon dijon mustard
Sea salt
Freshly ground black pepper

Blend in a food processor, stirring half way through and adding a bit more olive oil or hemp hearts to reach desired consistency.

Love.
– R


4 thoughts on “Hemp Heart Caesar Salad

  1. Ben says:

    It was good.

  2. Maxine says:

    I’ve never had hemp hearts… What’s the story on this ingredient?

    • Glad you asked. I guess I should have gone into more detail about that. Hemp hearts are shelled hemp seeds and are slightly bigger than sesame seeds. They have a soft nutty flavour and are very versatile. I also like to put them in oatmeal, yogurt, fruit shakes. Anything I can think of really. 🙂

  3. franceedward says:

    Oh my I want to eat this right now! I will certainly be stealing this recipe! thanks!

Leave a Reply

